Congratulations to the 2018-2019 American Literacy Corporation “Outstanding Contributions to Literacy” Awardees 

Ingrid Hochrein
Bellevue Elementary School
Bellevue Union School District-1st Grade
Kryssie Mingst
Garin Elementary School
Brentwood Union School District 5th Grade
Bee Medders
Pioneer Elementary School
New Haven Unified-1st Grade

Area Directors and Council Presidents

Area 1
Director: Carla Peterson (2018)

Gateway Council
Lake Mendocino Reading Council
Marin Area Reading Council
Tehama County Reading Council
Paula Aja (2019) pdaja48@gmail.com
Joann O Neill (2019) joneill@kvusd.org
Nancy Rogers-Zegarra (2019) nr729zeg@gmail.com
Karla Stroman (2019)  kstroman@tehamaschools.org 

Area 2
Director: Joanne Devine (2019) 

Placer Area Reading Council
Sacramento Area Reading Assoc.
San Joaquin-Stanislaus Reading Association
Betsy Stenklyft (2019) akabets@surewest.net
Christine Squires (2019) chrissi.sara1021@gmail.com
Karol Eisenbeis  (2019) keisenbeis@ceres.k12.ca.us

Area 3
Director: Lauren Pomrantz (2019) 

Alameda County Reading Assoc.
Contra Costa Reading Association
San Mateo County Reading Assoc.
Santa Clara County Reading Council
Santa Cruz County Reading Association
Mary Small (2019) marysmall192@gmail.com
Lynn Gurnee (2019) lynn@gurnee.org
Susan Mickiewicz (2019) suemick7@yahoo.com
Nancy Rogers-Zegarra (2019) nr729zeg@gmail.com
Jessica Middour (2019) jessymiddy@gmail.com

Area 4
Director: Position Vacant

Kern Reading Association
Madera-Fresno Area Reading Council
Tulare County Reading Council
Brenda Russell (2019) silkyterrier2@att.net
Nancy Akhavan (2019) nakhavan@mail.fresnostate.edu
Position Vacant

Area 5
Director: Rene Hohls (2019)

Central Coast Literacy and Reading Council
Ventura County Reading Association
Meredith Larson (2017) 
Rene Hohls (2018) rhohls@gmail.com 

Area 6
Director: Lisa Neve (2021)

Los Angeles Chapter
Orange County Reading Assoc.
Rene Gaudet (2019) renegaudet@twc.com
Tatiana Silva & Jackie Romo (2019) tater_tot1007@yahoo.com 

Area 7
Director: Penny Cline (2019)

Eastern Mojave Literacy Council
Greater San Diego Reading Assoc.
Inland Empire Reading Council
Victor Valley Literacy Chapter
Kristine Utter (2019) roscoandtig@gmail.com
Masami Jenkins (2019) masamij@aol.com
Terri Labik & Jeanne Gahagan  (2019) readrbreder@att.net
Barbara Flory (2019)