Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

Marcus Foster Memorial Award

Deadline: May 1 Nomination Form (PDF)


To recognize outstanding contributions to reading in California. This award was established in 1973 to honor the late Dr. Marcus Foster, Superintendent of Schools in Oakland.


Any teacher, administrator, or author who has made significant and outstanding contribution to reading throughout California.


  1. The nominee´s contribution to reading in California.
  2. The effect of these contributions in enhancing the cause of reading throughout California by relating to the well-being of students, educators, and/or parents.
  3. The nominee´s superiority over all potential nominees throughout the state.


The recipient will:


  1. CRA members submit names to local councils.
  2. Each local council may submit one nomination by:
    1. filling out the nomination form.
    2. writing a letter in support of the nominee.
    3. providing an up-to-date resume on the nominee's background, education, professional experience, and publications
  3. After reviewing all nominations, the Citations and Awards Committee shall submit the name of the proposed recipient to the CRA Board.
  4. The CRA Board of Directors has the final responsibility in the selection of the Marcus Foster Award recipient.

Additional Information

Mail completed Nomination Form to CRA

Member Login

CRA is proud to support the quality

EUREKA! Nonfiction Children's Book Awards

Become a Eureka Committee Member
More Info | Application

California Young Reader Medal
More Info | Application

Award Nominees/Winners

The California Reading Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

American Literacy Corporation
$2000 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award
$500 to CRA Council that nominates a winning K-8 educator