Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

Margaret Lynch Scholarship Award

Deadline: May 1. Nomination Form (PDF)


To provide a classroom teacher with a scholarship in order to pursue post-baccalaureate study in the area of reading. The award was established in 1982 to honor the late Margaret Lynch, the sixth president of the California Reading Association.


Any first, second, or third year teacher who has a continuing interest in service as a classroom teacher.



Recipients will:


Each local council and each voting CRA Board Member may submit one nomination by:

  1. Filling out the nomination form.
  2. Writing a letter in support of the nominee which describes how the nominee meets the criteria.
  3. Providing an up-to-date resume on the nominee's background, education and professional experience.
  4. After reviewing all nominations, the Citations and Awards Committee will submit the name of the proposed recipient to the CRA Board. The CRA Board is the final authority in the selection of the Margaret Lynch Scholarship Award recipient.

Additional Information

Mail completed Nomination Form to CRA

Member Login

CRA is proud to support the quality

EUREKA! Nonfiction Children's Book Awards

Become a Eureka Committee Member
More Info | Application

California Young Reader Medal
More Info | Application

Award Nominees/Winners

The California Reading Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

American Literacy Corporation
$2000 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award
$500 to CRA Council that nominates a winning K-8 educator