Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The "Policymaker of the Year" Award

Deadline: May 1 Nomination Form


The California Reading Association annually recognizes positive influences to education in California by a policymaker who has made a significant contribution to literacy.

In giving this award, the California Reading Association acknowledges the extent to which we as educators depend upon the support of policy makers to further the goals of a literate society. Policymakers dramatically influence the lives of both educators and our children in California. With the need for effective legislation comes the responsibility of professional organizations such as CRA to highlight influential partners in education.


Any policy maker that has made major contributions to education in California.


The nominee's creation of policy that positively affects education shall serve as the criteria for giving this award.


The recipient will be honored at the annual CRA Conference.


  1. The CRA Board shall solicit nominations from members of CRA.
  2. The Executive Committee and Legislative Committee shall review supporting documents and make final recommendations to the Board.
  3. The CRA Board shall approve the final selection.
  4. Inductees shall be honored at the annual CRA Conference.

Additional Information

Mail nomination form to CRA

Member Login

CRA is proud to support the quality

EUREKA! Nonfiction Children's Book Awards

Become a Eureka Committee Member
More Info | Application

California Young Reader Medal
More Info | Application

Award Nominees/Winners

The California Reading Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

American Literacy Corporation
$2000 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award
$500 to CRA Council that nominates a winning K-8 educator