Facebook  |  Pinterest  |  Blog

The California Reading Association

     Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

The California
Reading Association

Dedicated to Literacy for Over Fifty Years

CRA Honors the 2013 Awards Recipients

(2012 Recipients)

California Reading Association Hall of Fame Award: Dr. Elfreida Heibert

Established in 1988 to honor distinguished Californians whose contributions through scholarship, research, authorship and/or leadership have had a significant and lasting impact on reading improvement.

Marcus Foster Memorial Reading Award: Barbara Cockerham

Established in 1973 and named in honor of the late Superintendent of Oakland Public Schools, it is given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to reading-language arts in our state.

Armin R. Schulz Award: Jeri Chase Ferris

Established in 2012 in honor of Dr. Schulz to recognize a teacher who uses literature to teach or an author who writes books that promote social justice.

John Martin Distinguished Service Award: Carla Hoff

Presented to a member of the California Reading Association who merits recognition for outstanding service to the organization.

Policymaker of the Year Award: Governor Jerry Brown

Recognizes positive influences to education in California by a policymaker who has made a significant contribution to literacy.

Statewide Celebrate Literacy Award: Judy Laird

Selected to represent all Celebrate Literacy Award winners at the annual conference.

Torchlighter Program Awards

Recognizes CRA Councils for council programming which is innovative or provides outstanding service to the local community.

Area 6 - Inland Empire Reading Council

Margaret Lynch Area Exemplary Service Awards

Established in 1981 to recognize CRA members who have made an outstanding contribution to literacy in their area.

Area 1 - Nichola Bronk
Area 2 – Taffy Mauer
Area 3 – Michelle McKinley
Area 4 – Ann Weisenberg
Area 5 – Michael Shae
Area 6 – Teri Labik

Write On With Reading Award

Recognizes students for their love of reading and their commitment to reading books as expressed in an essay.

K - 2 Winner - Broden Black, nominated by Inland Empire Reading Council
3 - 5 Winner - Leslie Rodgriguez, nominated by Contra Costa Reading Reading Association
6 - 8 Winner - Kyra Asher, nominated by Eastern Mojave Literacy Council
9 - 12 Winner - Kyra Asher, Kayla Kelley, nominated by Inland Empire Reading Council

Celebrate Literacy Awards

Recognizes the literacy efforts and contributions made by individuals, clubs, organizations and businesses in a local reading council’s immediate community.

Area 1 - Rita Abbey, Jon Agee, Cecelie Steuple, Jeff Williamson, Diane Davidson, Barb Glaser, Kelseyville High School Interact Club, and the Lake County Literacy Task Force

Area 2 - Judy Laird, Amanda Wong, and Thomas Harp

Area 3 - Tanya Leyden, Dr. Martha Riley, Joan Masaryk, Sunil Sethi & Steven Fong Realtors, and Bee Medders

Area 4 - Temy Wilcox, Noelle Tomlinson, Junior League of San Joaquin Co., and Ann Johnston

Area 5 - Kevin Shah

Area 6 - Kelly Gallagher and Dr. Rebecca Constantino

Area 7 - Paulette Croft, Moira Conlon, Michael Meaney, and Debbie Panfill

Member Login

CRA is proud to support the quality

EUREKA! Nonfiction Children's Book Awards

Become a Eureka Committee Member
More Info | Application

California Young Reader Medal
More Info | Application

Award Nominees/Winners

The California Reading Association is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

American Literacy Corporation
$2000 "Outstanding Contributions to Literacy" award
$500 to CRA Council that nominates a winning K-8 educator