Nancy Rogers-Zegarra New Teacher Scholarship Award

Deadline: June 30th
Nomination Form (PDF)

  • To provide a scholarship for a beginning teacher ( first or second year of teaching) which will enable him/her to experience the benefits of attending the CRA PDI and provide resources  for their professional growth.

  • Employed as a new teacher (2 years or less of teaching experience) in California.

  • One letter of recommendation by support provider, principal, or staff member testifying to new teacher’s outstanding teaching as a new teacher at their school. (1 page; maximum 200 words).
  • Personal statement describing how attending the annual CRA Professional Development Institute will benefit your teaching and your students’ literacy development. (Not to exceed one page; maximum 200 words.)

Recipients will:
  • Receive up to $700.00 toward travel, food and lodging expenses to attend PDI.
  • Receive the cost for registration at the annual CRA Professional Development Institute (PDI). 
  • Receive the cost of registration for all the special functions at the CRA PDI. Be honored at the PDI

  1. Complete the nomination form which must be signed by a local reading council officer.
  2. Complete other necessary criteria.
  3. Attach a current resume.

Additional Information
Mail completed Nomination Form to:

California Reading Association
638 Camino De Los Mares/Suite H130/467
San Clemente, CA 92673
Kristin Ballard is the 2019 winner!
Hannah Turner is the 2018 winner and a first grade teacher at Brookside School in Willits 
Mary Lou Banahan is the 2017 winner and a kindergarten teacher in San Juan USD in Sacramento
Genieve Walker is the 2016 recipient and a 4th grade teacher in Santa Rosa at Kawana School